Core Faculty

Core Faculty teach core T&T courses, supervise doctoral work and candidacy exams, and do research related to Texts and Technology. Core faculty members serve as chairs and members on T&T dissertation committees and take an active role in student advising.

Barry Jason MauerCore Faculty
Barry Jason Mauer
Director
Associate Professor
bmauer@ucf.edu
Interests: Film and Media Studies; Cultural Studies; Rhetoric and Composition; Literary Theory; Memor...
J.D.  ApplenCore Faculty
J.D. Applen
Associate Professor
jd.applen@ucf.edu
Interests: Classical and Contemporary Rhetoric; Technical Communication for students across UCF in al...
Jonathan  BeeverCore Faculty
Jonathan Beever
Assistant Professor
Jonathan.Beever@ucf.edu
Interests: Environmental Bioethics; Simulation and Representation; Soundscape Ecology; Ethics and Sci...
Rosalind  BeilerCore Faculty
Rosalind Beiler
Associate Professor
rosalind.beiler@ucf.edu
Interests: Early American History, Atlantic History, Migration, Early Modern German History, Public H...
Melody  BowdonCore Faculty
Melody Bowdon
Associate Professor
melody.bowdon@ucf.edu
Interests: Faculty Development; Technical and Professional Communication; Gender and Technology; Serv...
Martha Catherine BrenckleCore Faculty
Martha Catherine Brenckle
Professor
Martha.Brenckle@ucf.edu
Interests: Queer Theory and FYW; Gender Studies and Feminist Theories; SOTL in Information Literacy ...
James  CampbellCore Faculty
James Campbell
Associate Professor
james.campbell@ucf.edu
Interests: British and Irish Literature since 1885, War and Literature, Sexuality Theory, Science Fic...
Robert  CassanelloCore Faculty
Robert Cassanello
Associate Professor
Robert.Cassanello@ucf.edu
Interests: Social History, Southern History, Race, Gender, Historiography...
Dustin W. EdwardsCore Faculty
Dustin W. Edwards
Assistant Professor
Dustin.Edwards@ucf.edu
Interests: digital rhetorics; circulation studies ; the politics of writing infrastructures, especia...
Joseph  FanfarelliCore Faculty
Joseph Fanfarelli
Assistant Professor
joseph.fanfarelli@ucf.edu
Interests: Educational Games; Gamification; Video Game Design; Learning & Pedagogy; Research Methods...
Scot A. FrenchCore Faculty
Scot A. French
Associate Professor
Scot.French@ucf.edu
Interests: Digital and Public History; Community Studies/Local Knowledge; Sites of Memory; Southern H...
Maria C. R. HarringtonCore Faculty
Maria C. R. Harrington
Assistant Professor
Maria.Harrington@ucf.edu
Interests: Virtual reality, simulations, and human-computer interaction for learning and creating; Vi...
Bruce B. JanzCore Faculty
Bruce B. Janz
Professor
bruce.janz@ucf.edu
Interests: Contemporary African Philosophy; Postcolonial Thought ; Theories of Place/Space; Urb...
Natasha N. JonesCore Faculty
Natasha N. Jones
Associate Professor
Natasha.Jones@ucf.edu
Interests: technical and professional communication; narrative; genre; social justice and activism in...
Mark L. KamrathCore Faculty
Mark L. Kamrath
Professor
mark.kamrath@ucf.edu
Interests: Brown and the Early Republic, 1771-1810; Eighteenth-Century Periodicals and Print Culture;...
Peter  LarsonCore Faculty
Peter Larson
Associate Professor
Peter.Larson@ucf.edu
Interests: Medieval & Early Modern England; social and economic history; legal history....
Connie L. LesterCore Faculty
Connie L. Lester
Associate Professor
Connie.Lester@ucf.edu
Interests: Modern South, agricultural, environmental and economic history...
Rudy  McDanielCore Faculty
Rudy McDaniel
Professor
rudy@ucf.edu
Interests: Digital badges; Interactive narrative; Knowledge management; Information architecture; Vid...
Shelley M ParkCore Faculty
Shelley M Park
Professor
Shelley.Park@ucf.edu
Interests: Kinship studies, ethics of care, philosophy of love, queer theory, feminist theory, postco...
Tison  PughCore Faculty
Tison Pugh
Professor
Tison.Pugh@ucf.edu
Interests: Medieval English Literature; Queer and Gender Studies; Pedagogy; Film; Children's Literatu...
Christian  RavelaCore Faculty
Christian Ravela
Assistant Professor
christian.ravela@ucf.edu
Interests: 20th Century Multi-Ethnic Cultural Production, Comparative Racialization, Critical Ethnic ...
Angela R. RounsavilleCore Faculty
Angela R. Rounsaville
Associate Professor
Angela.Rounsaville@ucf.edu
Interests: Transnational/Transcultural Literacy; Literacy Studies; Rhetorical Genre Theory; Transfer;...
Anastasia  SalterCore Faculty
Anastasia Salter
Assistant Professor
anastasia@ucf.edu
Interests: digital narrative; electronic literature; game studies; social media; ...
Blake  ScottCore Faculty
Blake Scott
Professor
bscott@ucf.edu
Interests: Rhetoric of Health & Medicine; Rhetorical History, Theory, & Techne; Professiona...
Peter  SmithCore Faculty
Peter Smith
Assistant Professor
Peter.Smith@ucf.edu
Interests: Game Design, Serious Games, Integrating Wearables and Sensors in Games, Alternate Contro...
Mel  StanfillCore Faculty
Mel Stanfill
Assistant Professor
mel.stanfill@ucf.edu
Interests: Digital Labor; Media Industry Studies; Interfaces; Fan Studies; Queer Theory; Race and Gen...
Sonia H. StephensCore Faculty
Sonia H. Stephens
Assistant Professor
Sonia.Stephens@ucf.edu
Interests: Scientific and Technical Communication in Digital and visual Media; Narrative Information ...
Natalie  Underberg-GoodeCore Faculty
Natalie Underberg-Goode
Associate Professor
Natalie.Underberg-Goode@ucf.edu
Interests: Digital folklore; Digital ethnography; Digital storytelling; Visual anthropology; Particip...
Stephanie  VieCore Faculty
Stephanie Vie
Professor
Stephanie.Vie@ucf.edu
Interests: Composing in social media, particularly social networks; Critical technological literacy; ...
Keri  WatsonCore Faculty
Keri Watson
Assistant Professor
Keri.Watson@ucf.edu
Interests: Modern and Contemporary Art; History of Photography and Film; American Studies; Prison Edu...
Pavel  ZemlianskyCore Faculty
Pavel Zemliansky
Professor
pavel.zemliansky@ucf.edu
Interests: Professional communication, especially in international contexts; writing across the curri...

Associated Faculty

Associated Faculty attend meetings and events, and serve as dissertation and exam committee members for students in the program. They also play a role in student advising and mentorship.

Madelyn  FlammiaAssociated Faculty
Madelyn Flammia
Professor
Madelyn.Flammia@ucf.edu
Interests: International Technical Communication; Virtual Teams; Visual Communication; Document Desig...
Kevin  MeehanAssociated Faculty
Kevin Meehan
Associate Professor
kevin.meehan@ucf.edu
Interests: Caribbean Literature and Culture; African American Literature and Culture; Climate Change ...

Affiliated Faculty

Affiliated Faculty participate as non-voting members of the T&T Faculty Committee. Affiliated faculty are those who do not play a direct role in the governance or administration of the program but who have other expertise or skills deemed essential to the ongoing goals of the program. Many affiliated faculty serve as external members on dissertation committees.

Michael ArnzenAffiliated Faculty
Michael Arnzen
Professor
arnzen@setonhill.edu
Interests: Creative writing; scholarship of teaching; horror fiction; horror film; speculative poetry...
Sarah BarberAffiliated Faculty
Sarah Barber
Associate Professor
SarahStacy.Barber@ucf.edu
Interests: Archaeology of Mesoamerica, archaeology of the Greater Southwest, poststructural social th...
Syd BaumanAffiliated Faculty
Syd Bauman
XML Programmer-Analyst
s.bauman@neu.edu
Interests: Markup languages; digital humanities; XML; representation of overlap; document constraint;...
Jeffrey S. BedwellAffiliated Faculty
Jeffrey S. Bedwell
Associate Professor
Jeffrey.Bedwell@ucf.edu
Interests: Psychophysiological aspects of a broad range of mental health disorders thought to relate ...
Clint BowersAffiliated Faculty
Clint Bowers
Professor
Clint.Bowers@ucf.edu
Interests: Study of games and other technology as training tools, and the use of games and other tech...
Rebecca DingoAffiliated Faculty
Rebecca Dingo
Associate Professor
dingor@missouri.edu
Interests: Twentieth-century rhetorical theory, transnational feminist theory, girl studies, disabili...
Stacey DunnAffiliated Faculty
Stacey Dunn
Associate Professor
stdunn@rollins.edu
Interests: Body image, eating behavior, interpersonal relationships and influences and women’s issu...
Terri FineAffiliated Faculty
Terri Fine
Professor
Terri.Fine@ucf.edu
Interests: Women and politics, public opinion and voting behavior, and political methodology...
Stephen M. FioreAffiliated Faculty
Stephen M. Fiore
Professor
sfiore@ist.ucf.edu
Interests: Shared Cognition; Technology as External Cognition; Collaborative Problem Solving; Narrati...
Elizabeth GrauerholzAffiliated Faculty
Elizabeth Grauerholz
Professor
Elizabeth.Grauerholz@ucf.edu
Interests: Gender; Consumption; Media; Childhood; the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL); An...
Richard HartshorneAffiliated Faculty
Richard Hartshorne
Associate Professor
Richard.Hartshorne@ucf.edu
Interests: Technology and teacher education, the integration of emerging technology into the k-post-s...
Charles E. HughesAffiliated Faculty
Charles E. Hughes
Professor
Charles.Hughes@ucf.edu
Interests: Avatar-mediated interaction, digital puppetry, human surrogates, human-technology interact...
Kenneth JurkiewiczAffiliated Faculty
Kenneth Jurkiewicz
Associate Professor
Jurki1kz@cmich.edu
Interests: Film theory and criticism; science fiction; horror...
Darl LarsenAffiliated Faculty
Darl Larsen
Professor
darl@byu.edu
Interests: Film genres, film history, animation, screenwriting, and popular culture...
Kendall LeonAffiliated Faculty
Kendall Leon
Assistant Professor
kleon1@csuchico.edu
Interests: Research methodologies for studying rhetoric and writing; community and cultural rhetorics...
Ty MatejowskyAffiliated Faculty
Ty Matejowsky
Associate Professor
Ty.Matejowsky@ucf.edu
Interests: Cultural anthropology, economic anthropology, globalization, fast food, disasters, culture...
Timothy OleksiakAffiliated Faculty
Timothy Oleksiak
Assistant Professor
toleksia@bloomu.edu
Interests: Listening as a rhetorical act and online interaction in academic and public spaces; critic...
Leonardo OliveiraAffiliated Faculty
Leonardo Oliveira
Associate Professor
Leonardo.Oliveira@ucf.edu
Interests: Hypertension in adults and athletes, cardiovascular disease prevention and wellness strate...
Elizabeth ScanlonAffiliated Faculty
Elizabeth Scanlon
Adjunct
Elizabeth.scanlon@ocps.net
Interests: Adolescent literacy, teacher education, digital writing, gamification, ESOL...
Mark SchaferAffiliated Faculty
Mark Schafer
Professor
Mark.Schafer@ucf.edu
Interests: Political psychology in general, with particular interests in groupthink, the operational ...
Evan SelingerAffiliated Faculty
Evan Selinger
Associate Professor
eselinger@mail.rit.edu
Interests: Ethical issues concerning technology, science, the law, expertise, and sustainability, and...
Robert D. TaylorAffiliated Faculty
Robert D. Taylor
Associate Professor
RDTaylor@asu.edu
Interests: Leadership of the acquisition, digital archiving, museum/gallery presentation of historica...
Kimberly VossAffiliated Faculty
Kimberly Voss
Associate Professor
Kimberly.Voss@ucf.edu
Interests: Journalism history, food journalism, advertising history, culinary history, women's studie...